THE DIRT TM blog covers the latest news on the built and natural environments and features stories on landscape architecture. Published weekly, THE DIRT explores design and policy developments related to land and water use, urbanization, transportation, and climate change.

ASLA seeks to facilitate open, respectful dialogue in its public forums. Opinions expressed are not necessarily those of ASLA. By participating in ASLA’s websites, blogs, and social media accounts, the user agrees to the Terms of Use.

Header image: ASLA 2018 Professional General Design Honor Award. Tippet Rise Art Center, Fishtail, Montana. Oehme, Van Sweden | OvS

Editor & Writer: Jared Green

Student ASLA contributors:

Margaret Baldwin (University of Virginia)
Hannah Barefoot (University of Virginia)
Dakotah Bertsch (California State Polytechnic University, Pomona)
Matt Busa (University of Maryland)
Liz Camuti (Louisiana State University)
Katherine Cannella (University of Virginia)
Dana Davidson (University of California, Berkeley)
Brian Davis (University of Virginia)
Ian Dillon (University of Pennsylvania)
Asa Eslocker (University of Virginia)
Kate Hayes (University of Virginia)
Jenna Harris (University of Virginia)
Luke Harris (University of Virginia)
Johanna Hoffman (University of California – Berkeley)
Beth Jacobson (Smith College)
Laura Kendrick (University of Maryland)
Aaron King (University of Pennsylvania)
Shannon Leahy (University of Pennsylvania)
Dasha Lebedeva (University of Virginia)
Elizabeth Lee (California State University, San Luis Obispo)
Peter Malandra (University of Virginia)
Lucy Mcfadden (University of Virginia)
Lara Mehling (Harvard University)
Chad Miller (University of Virginia)
Grace Mitchell (University of California, Berkeley)
Heidi Petersen (Illiois Institute of Technology)
Chris Roach (Harvard University)
Amanda Rosenberg (Brown University)
Matt Scarnaty (University of Virginia)
Sarah Schramm (University of Virginia)
Julie Shapiro (University of Virginia)
Yoshi Silverstein (University of Maryland)
Tyler Silvestro (CUNY)
Jasmine Sohn (University of Virginia)
Rachel Stevens (University of Virginia)
Emily Vaughn (University of Virginia)
Rachel Vassar (University of Virginia)
Ben Wellington (Louisiana State University)
Nate Wooten (University of Pennsylvania)
Andew Wright (Louisiana State University)
Andrew Zientek (Harvard University)

About ASLA

Founded in 1899, the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) is the national professional association representing landscape architects. Beginning with 11 original members, ASLA has grown to more than 14,000 members and 49 chapters, representing all 50 states and U.S. territories. ASLA promotes the landscape architecture profession, and advances the practice through advocacy, education, communication, and fellowship.